2012 : The End

Its unusual of me to be at home on a weekday, like all other workers, plus all the more because I rarely get holidays even while other companies give holidays to their employees. I woke up late and like usual started reading the news, from the last page, cause I usually just check out the sports pages. Since I had nothing else to do at that time, I thought I’ll just go through the other pages too, to check if there was something worth noticing. Well when I reached page 9, I was shocked, half of the page was filled with rape stories and reports. The Delhi rape incident was the beginning of the end it seems, people may have sighed in relief that the world as we know it didn’t end in 2012 as the Mayans predicted, but for me its begun to end, at least in the Indian context. With the advent of the Delhi gangrape , rape has spread out all across the country like wildfire. Adding fuel to the already blazing fire is the knowledge that the criminals aren’t even being punished for their crimes, which gives the criminals-to-be an added security that they can commit and get away with it just fine.

Too many rape cases reported every single day, the worst of the lot was one of a minor in Kerala, and then I used to think at least over here nothing of that sort happens, and then came the bouncer that went over my head. So who is safe anyway? Who is safe anywhere? I don’t know anymore. The country in going to the sewers or something like that. Not good by all means. The situation just keeps getting worser and worser.

And yeah , there no lack of protests for all these. One of those posts on Facebook showed it best, coupled with the victims friends words. People don’t give a damn about anyone except themselves. They’ll just watch you suffer thinking it ain’t their business not realising that they too could be in the same situation and none would come to their rescue either. First you ignore the ones in need, and the next day you raise banners showing your support to the victims or the dead, how is that gonna help anyone? You had the chance to help someone in distress, you chose to ignore them for you were far too self-conscious , and then you show some public support for them by lighting candles and joining protests? How hypocritical could you get? Even we the bloggers can keep blaming the people who didn’t bother to help them, and wonder how they could be so cruel as to ignore people in need, ask yourself this,would you have helped them? I doubt. I can speak for myself anyway, and I know I’ll faint when I see blood or get the smell of it, so would I dare put myself to help them? I don’t even know whats right in such a situation, if I could act and cause a stir in someone to act then I would, rather than magnify the mess by succumbing to the situation and fainting and seeking attention for myself than the rightly needful ones. How good can you be? Reflect upon yourselves, for I just got thoughts to relay out to you, so that you think before you pen down, what you believe you’ll do and what you’ll actually do, for not many actually put their words or claims into action. Shameful as it may be, but seeking attention is all that people have been good at, and those of whom have got it, very few use it for the sake of good, the rest misuse all the fame for their own rise and pleasures.

I just got a simple question, you can have two houses if one was too small and if you are building another for the future generation, but what good does it do to have more than that and that too bungalows in a world where there are people out there who don’t even have a house? Take a look at Mumbai , one side you see huge sky scraping flats and on the other you see ground hugging slums. The rich keep getting richer and the poor keep getting poorer. The cost of living is going higher by the day and I wouldn’t tell you to give your all to the poor, but then again you could give the useless stuff away to them than burning them away and throwing into the dustbin or waste bins if they are still in decent condition. For me all my stuff are important and I try to look after them as precious or even more than my own life, be it a T-shirt or a toy. I know I’ve drifted away from what I wanted to say, which even forced me to change the title of this post.

Coming back to the main topic, why is rape the trending crime? Why are more and more people getting involved in it? Murder gives you death penalty , and rape doesn’t , makes them think that I haven’t killed anyone so why should I be given a death penalty? Is that it? I would rather let the girl or victim die after this than let her live through hell after what has happened to her, how could she live a normal life after what has happened to her? Who would be so kind enough to accept her now? Would you accept her? The only thing we the spectators can do is brag, brag and brag more till it hits us in the face when we’ll be speechless too, and do the same darn thing which we bragged we wouldn’t. Open your eyes people, you ain’t as good as you think you are. Your spirits are as weak as it were before this happened and you were just shining like a moon with the light of the sun.

I don’t expect too many people to read this, or even half of this, cause I know you’d not wanna admit the cursed reality about who you really are. I can even link up with the human behaviour of late with the animal kingdom, taking into example my little kittens, two were killed by their own kinsfolk, and I mean other male cats itself, just cause they cling to their mother almost all the time. To get the lady all obstacles have been thrown apart it seems, what is happening with the unfortunate friends who accompany those poor lady souls wandering in the dark of the night. This my dear is the bitter truth. I always had wished the world had ended in 2012 ever since I had heard about it, that was due to my own personal reasons. But now seeing the state India as a country is in right now, I really wish it did, for it would’ve been far better than living in a shameless country led by shameless leaders who can do nothing but make excuses to justify the criminals for their crimes.

I’ve seen and known good people, those who really act to their will and power and do all the good stuff they can. I respect them for what they have done, for I could never have done the same or anything even close to their noble deeds, be it to humans or to animals for all of us have equal rights to this world. Hey there you random nice soul, you are one in a million out there who would do something good for this world, and I do hope someone like you could be elected representative of the people, for the people and by the people.

Everything starts from home, they say, so never neglect your own home before you do something for the others. That doesn’t mean you gotta be selfish and worry only about yourselves, try to do your own bit in improving the society if you can. At time even I doubt if I am really who I am, or what I pen down actually makes any sense at all, but penning down is all I can for these thoughts travel at the speed of will and disappear in the blink of an eye. I leave it upto you to decide who you are and what you can do for the society, with all due respect, you too are an animal, born with a little bit more sense than the rest.

Posted on January 22, 2013, in Random and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Hi Sankar,

    I think the rape mentality has more to do with our overall machismo, male-dominated culture. Even in the epics like Mahabharata and Ramayana, one sees that the females are always the oppressed ones, the males always dominates on the females and the wars were fought because of a female.
    However, you’re absolutely right, nobody gives a damn about all this. Everybody is busy in the rat race trying to outdo the other person. They’ll realize only when it happens to them and then they’ll be complaining how pathetic the system is. Well, if it is so pathetic, then go ahead fight to make it better.
    Quite a thought provoking post, this one.

    P.S. Do check out & vote for my entry for Get Published.

    Regards

    Jay
    My Blog | My Entry to Indiblogger Get Published

  2. Yea bro true πŸ™‚ , protests for a day or 2 wont bring about no difference πŸ™‚
    n will check it out πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

